Yorkshire Regional Parliament Referendum Petition

As we understand that plans are in hand to commence extensive promotion of the petition for a referendum on devolving powers to a Yorkshire Regional Parliament, we thought now might be a good time to look at the current progress of the petition on a constituency basis here in Yorkshire. The table below shows how many signatures have been collected for each constituency in Yorkshire. Some constituencies straddle the border and some of these only incorporate small areas of Yorkshire so we would only expect small numbers of signatures to be collected for these. It should also be remembered that there are many supporters and “expats” outside the county who are also eligible to sign the petition, so the numbers shown here by no means represents the full total of signatures obtained.

Our conclusion is that efforts to promote the petition cannot come soon enough. We can only hope that proper planning and thought has gone into the forthcoming “push”. If 72,000 plus voters were in favour of One Yorkshire devolution in Doncaster and Barnsley in 2017, then surely 100,000 is an attainable target for this petition in 2021.

To sign the petition, please follow the link below the table.

Barnsley Central7
Barnsley East7
Batley and Spen24
Beverley and Holderness28
Bishop Auckland1
Bradford East12
Bradford South15
Bradford West10
Brigg and Goole0
Calder Valley20
Colne Valley39
Don Valley13
Doncaster Central21
Doncaster North14
East Yorkshire42
Elmet and Rothwell26
Haltemprice and Howden14
Harrogate and Knaresborough19
Kingston Upon Hull East11
Kingston Upon Hull North13
Kingston Upon Hull West and Hessle16
Leeds Central28
Leeds East18
Leeds North East27
Leeds North West25
Leeds West20
Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland3
Morley and Outwood40
Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford33
Oldham East and Saddleworth1
Penistone and Stocksbridge12
Ribble Valley1
Rother Valley14
Scarborough and Whitby24
Selby and Ainsty28
Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough10
Sheffield Central18
Sheffield Hallam12
Sheffield Heeley11
Sheffield South East11
Skipton and Ripon38
Stockton South6
Thirsk and Malton21
Wentworth and Dearne22
Westmorland and Lonsdale1
York Central33
York Outer12


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *