South Yorkshire Councils Agree Devolution Plan

Evidently the councils of South Yorkshire; Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield; have agreed a plan to bring into force the stalled Sheffield City Region Devolution Deal which was originally agreed in 2015 but was not implemented after Barnsley and Doncaster opted to support the One Yorkshire proposal in 2017.

The plan would see the councils adhering to the provisions of the original deal until the end of the current South Yorkshire mayoral term in 2022. At this point, those councils which wish to, could transfer to an alternative arrangement such as One Yorkshire, while the others could continue with the South Yorkshire arrangements. If the plan is accepted by the government, it would potentially unlock £30M a year to boost economic growth and £20M a year in transport funding.

The proposal has been set out in a letter sent by the leaders of South Yorkshire to Communities Secretary, James Brokenshire. The Mayor of South Yorkshire, Dan Jarvis, said the proposal is “entirely consistent with our One Yorkshire ambition. It is a pragmatic solution that enables first and foremost, the unlocking of the Sheffield City Region Deal, whilst also supporting wider Yorkshire devolution ambitions.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *